Support Our Work
Support Our Work

In the News

Failure to Discipline Rampant Use of N-Word by Buffalo Police Officers, Lack of Oversight Chronic

Testimony Shows Officers Receive No Training on Racial Bias or Profiling Contact:Zavé Martohardjono, National Center For Law and Economic Justice, (646) 853-2728, martohardjono@nclej.org Jen Nessel, Center for Constitutional Rights, (212) 614-6449, jnessel@ccrjustice.org Buffalo, NY – Litigation against the Buffalo…

Read More →

People with Disabilities in Suffolk County Will Receive Better Access to Public Benefits

Contact for questions and comments:Jordan Berger, NCLEJ Skadden Fellow, berger@nclej.org, 646-680-8906Saima Akhtar, Senior Attorney, akhtar@nclej.org, 646-558-6152Linda Hassberg, Senior Attorney, Empire Justice Center, lhassberg@empirejustice.org, 631-533-5272 Suffolk County, NY — A federal judge in the Eastern District of New York…

Read More →

Home care workers file federal complaint against New York over ‘discriminatory’ 24-hour shifts

Gothamist covered a complaint filed by NCLEJ demanding the federal government investigate the New York State Department of Health and Department of Labor for their discrimination against home care workers being forced to work 24-hour shifts. Excerpts below taken…

Read More →

NY Health Aides Challenge 24-Hour Shifts With Lower Pay

Law360 covered a complaint filed by NCLEJ demanding the federal government investigate the New York State Department of Health and Department of Labor for their discrimination against home care workers being forced to work 24-hour shifts. Read the article by Irene Spezzamonte.

Read More →

NCLEJ Demands Federal Government Investigate NYSDOL and DOH for Discriminating Against Home Care Workers

Contact: Carmela Huang, National Center for Law and Economic Justice | huang@nclej.org New York, NY — Today the National Center for Law and Economic Justice has filed a complaint in partnership with National Mobilization Against Sweatshops, Chinese Staff…

Read More →

People Harmed by Montgomery Debtors’ Prison Seek a Final Shot at Justice

Contact for comments: Claudia Wilner, NCLEJ Director of Litigation and Advocacy | wilner@nclej.org New York, NY – For years, the City of Montgomery and a private contractor, Judicial Correction Services (JCS) operated a debtors’ prison in Alabama. A…

Read More →

Poverty Programs Work When They Address Needs

by Dennis Parker, Saima Akhtar, and Sara Lunden A recent New York Times article, “How Poverty Programs Aided Children From One Generation to the Next,” looks in-depth at benefits programs in the U.S through the experiences of several…

Read More →

Advocates Urge Supreme Court to Uphold Individuals’ Ability to Enforce Essential Rights

Decision Could Impact Millions of Children’s Access to Food, Healthcare  Contacts: Willis Jacobson, National Center for Youth Law: wjacobson@youthlaw.org Saima Akhtar, National Center for Law and Economic Justice: akhtar@nclej.org Selina Weiss, Youth Law Center: sweiss@ylc.org Constance Van Kley, Upper Seven Law (counsel…

Read More →