Support Our Work
Support Our Work

Category: Press Releases

Groups Sue Over Alaska’s Failure to Provide SNAP Benefits to Vulnerable Communities 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 20, 2023  CONTACT:  Saima Akhtar, National Center for Law and Economic Justice | akhtar@nclej.org, 646-558-6152 Nick Feronti, Northern Justice Project | nferonti@njp-law.com, 907-308-3395  UPDATE JANUARY 25, 2023 Following the filing of our lawsuit last…

Read More →

NCLEJ Files Brief in Support of Home Care Workers Challenging Abusive Arbitration Award

Contact: Carmela Huang, National Center for Law and Economic Justice | huang@nclej.org  New York, NY — Today, National Center for Law and Economic Justice (NCLEJ), filed a “friend of the court” brief with the United States Court of…

Read More →

Failure to Discipline Rampant Use of N-Word by Buffalo Police Officers, Lack of Oversight Chronic

Testimony Shows Officers Receive No Training on Racial Bias or Profiling Contact:Zavé Martohardjono, National Center For Law and Economic Justice, (646) 853-2728, martohardjono@nclej.org Jen Nessel, Center for Constitutional Rights, (212) 614-6449, jnessel@ccrjustice.org Buffalo, NY – Litigation against the Buffalo…

Read More →

People with Disabilities in Suffolk County Will Receive Better Access to Public Benefits

Contact for questions and comments:Jordan Berger, NCLEJ Skadden Fellow, berger@nclej.org, 646-680-8906Saima Akhtar, Senior Attorney, akhtar@nclej.org, 646-558-6152Linda Hassberg, Senior Attorney, Empire Justice Center, lhassberg@empirejustice.org, 631-533-5272 Suffolk County, NY — A federal judge in the Eastern District of New York…

Read More →

NCLEJ Demands Federal Government Investigate NYSDOL and DOH for Discriminating Against Home Care Workers

Contact: Carmela Huang, National Center for Law and Economic Justice | huang@nclej.org New York, NY — Today the National Center for Law and Economic Justice has filed a complaint in partnership with National Mobilization Against Sweatshops, Chinese Staff…

Read More →

People Harmed by Montgomery Debtors’ Prison Seek a Final Shot at Justice

Contact for comments: Claudia Wilner, NCLEJ Director of Litigation and Advocacy | wilner@nclej.org New York, NY – For years, the City of Montgomery and a private contractor, Judicial Correction Services (JCS) operated a debtors’ prison in Alabama. A…

Read More →

Advocates Urge Supreme Court to Uphold Individuals’ Ability to Enforce Essential Rights

Decision Could Impact Millions of Children’s Access to Food, Healthcare  Contacts: Willis Jacobson, National Center for Youth Law: wjacobson@youthlaw.org Saima Akhtar, National Center for Law and Economic Justice: akhtar@nclej.org Selina Weiss, Youth Law Center: sweiss@ylc.org Constance Van Kley, Upper Seven Law (counsel…

Read More →

Community Members Along North Brooklyn Pipeline Route Say DPS Hearings Are About More Than Vaporizers

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Zavé Martohardjono, martohardjono@nclej.org BROOKLYN, NY- Brooklyn residents and environmental organizations are speaking out today to demand a full environmental review of all the phases of the North Brooklyn Pipeline along with the proposed expansion…

Read More →

Barreras Lingüísticas Impiden A Trabajadores Obtener El Seguro De Desempleo Durante La Pandemia

Los desastrosos errores de Nueva York que le costaron el acceso a beneficios de desempleo durante la pandemia a trabajadores de habla hispana Contacto: Zavé Martohardjono | martohardjono@nclej.org El National Law Center for Economic Justice organizará una conferencia…

Read More →